NameSplash

For the 'different, not weird' baby namer

My take on Nameberry’s Cool Unusual Boys’ Names

on December 11, 2013

EEK! Yesterday Nameberry posted their Best 100 Cool Unusual Boys’ Names!

I’ll pause while you shriek/faint/dance with excitement.

SO I thought I’d share my personal thoughts on the list. There are some serious gems here, as well as a few I’m not feeling.

I love:

Aldous- Love Aldous Huxley, and his name is so sophisticated, but not too complicated (like, say, Algernon). And it comes with the approachable nickname, Al.
Calloway- Calloway has been on my list of favorites for a while, and I’m glad people are bold enough to use it! Not sure I am, but I adore the melodic sound and the nickname Cal.
Garth- I’m surprised this isn’t more popular thanks to country star Garth Brooks. The name is sleek, masculine, and pretty badass.
Keene- Clean and cute but not immature, I hope to see this name flourish!
Keir- I might be biased, as I know an adorable little Keir. With the popularity of Irish names like Kieran, I’d bet Keir is in the upswing.
Nicasio-OOOH! Trendy ‘O’ ending, several cool nickname possibilities, and a delightfully different sound. Intrigued!
Ogden- In my opinion, a much more sophisticated twist on the ‘den’ trend
Osric- LOVING this. Refined, and somehow complex and simple at the same time. Like a dressed-down Oswald, or dressed-up Eric.
Webster-In general I’m not the biggest fan of surname names, but something about this one makes it seem wearable.
Zed- Cool, sleek, and different.

I am totally not into:

Birch- To me, Birch is awkward, though Nameberry singled it out as a favorite
Driver- A bizarre choice. ‘Driver’ makes me think of a stereotypical excessively wealthy person yelling at their limo driver
Mackson- An awkward blend of Mason, Mack, and Jackson. Not working for me.
Oak- Sounds…truncated?
Phelan- There is no way to pronounce (or mispronounce) this name that has a good connotation. Felon? Failin’? Feelin’?
Pilot- Another occupational name…they’re not my taste
Satchel Satchel? Purse? Handbag? Pouch?

I’m intrigued by:

Cyprian- a delightful update on Caspian.
Finch- From Darwin’s Finches to Atticus Finch, this name is just too delicious to pass up!
Kelso- cute, rocking the ‘O’ ending
Saber-a badass name that, to me, is somehow softer than Dagger or Blade, but still cool.
Severus- Harry Potter fan geek-out time!

How do you feel about these names? What names on Nameberry’s list are interesting to you?

2 responses to “My take on Nameberry’s Cool Unusual Boys’ Names

  1. Have to agree on the “not into” names – they sound terribly awkward as names. Satchel in particular is horrible, and Driver is just weird.

  2. Blue Juniper says:

    I actually like Birch, but I’m not sure I would use it as a first name.

    I have to admit to being slightly “meh” about a lot of the names, but of course “cool” means something different to everyone. They definitely got the unusual part down pat though 🙂

    My top favourites from the list are Callaghan, Griffith, Llewellyn, Moss, Rafferty and Topher.

Leave a Reply

lindarosenkrantz

A fine WordPress.com site

TulipByAnyName

Where Names Bloom

Sancta Nomina

Thoughts on Catholic baby naming

Nancy's Baby Names

Baby names galore! Lists, rankings, trivia, trends, games...

Mer de Noms

Floating Around In The Oncoming Tide Of Names

the mermuse

poet of the sea

NameSplash

For the 'different, not weird' baby namer

Naming the Fishes

A Blog For Name Lovers Everywhere

Waltzing More Than Matilda

Names with an Australian Bias of Democratic Temper

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

